Cultures, Citizenship and Human Rights


Grant Proposals Results Round September 2017

For the September 2017 round of funding, the CCHR selection commission received 24 eligible applications. A total of 21 proposals have been approved for funding, which are:

  • Ton Robben – Translation of book Argentina Betrayed: Memory, Mourning, and Accountability’ from English  into Spanish
  • Tessa Diphoorn & Brianne McGonigle Leyh – Cosponsor a two-day workshop entitled ‘Guarantees of Non-Recurrence: Transformative Police Reform’
  •  Susanne Knittel & Stephanie Benzaquen– Cosponsor a two-day international and interdisciplinary workshop “Mirroring Evil Revisited”
  • Eva van Roekel – NWO Veni application, teaching replacement
  • Kathrine van den Bogert – NWO Rubicon application ‘Embodying and Contesting the Brexit: Youth, Citizenship and Diversity in British Urban Spaces’
  • Barnita Bagchi – Workshop ‘Urban Utopias: Memory, Rights, and Speculation’
  • Eva Midden – Project ‘Faith in the Nation’
  • Carolina Sánchez De Jaegher, Wil Panster, Marc Simon Thomas, Rolando Vázquez   – Conference and book ‘Territories in dispute: epistemologies, resistances and spiritualities’ 
  • Christine Quinan – Teaching replacement for the project ‘The Borders of Gender: Security, Mobility, and Transgender human Rights’
  • Wouter Oomen & Sophie van den Elzen – Network related activities for an interdisciplinary PhD researchers group
  • Karin van Es & Mirko Tobias Schaefer – Project ‘Pilot Evaluation of the Digital Ethics Decision Aid’ (workshop, focus group and intern)
  • Helena Houvenaghel, Luisa García Manso & Monica Jansen – International seminar ‘Italian and Spanish Migrants Negotiating Transnational Identities in Argentina (1930-1976): Gender, Politics and Culture’
  • Gianmaria Colpani, Jamila Mascat & Katrine Smiet – Seminar ‘Decolonizing the Human: Humanism, Human Rights, and the Future of the Humanities’
  • Rick Dolphijn & Rosi Braidotti – Cosponsor conference Reading Gilles Deleuze in Contemporary Politics and Ecology Or: “How to Live the Anti-Fascist Life and Endure the Pain?”
  • Berteke Waaldijk, John de Wit & Marjolein van den Brink – Administrative assistance in composing a COST-application
  • Aggeliki Sifaki (joint project with Berteke Waaldijk) – Writing of NWO/ERC Proposal
  • Phoebe Kisubi-Mbasalaki (joint project with Berteke Waaldijk) – Writing of NWO/ERC Proposal
  • Magda Górska – Teaching replacement for ERC Starting Grant Proposal
  • Domitilla Olivieri – Support ERC Starting Grant Proposal
  • Julie Fraser – Post-doc funding application (Veni)
  • Iris van der Tuin, Maaike Bleeker, Birgit Meyer, Martijn Oosterbaan & Paul Ziche – Cosponsor the 9th Annual Conference on the New Materialisms
  • Layal Ftouni – Support in monograph writing
  • Kathrin Thiele – Support for Doing Gender Lecture Series